Technics reborn…!

I’ve just fulfilled a ‘dream’ and purchased a set of Technics decks – SL1210 MK2’s to be precise!

Ok, so what about simplicity, minimalism and living a more basic life? Since Panasonic confirmed that they were no longer producing their Technics range of turntables, it really focussed my mind on what I should do. Since I started university in 1998, i’ve owned decks, mixer and stereo and this combination (as well as hundreds of records!) was a big part of my life during uni and beyond. The thing that has stayed with me through the years has been the desire to use the best decks that have ever been produced – the SL1210 MK2.

These were first produced by Panasonic in 1990, and instantly became the industry standard. 21 years later this is still the case. The original SL1200 was released in 1978, so there is 1 more year of history than I have been alive!

All the clubs I went to had them. All the DJ’s I knew who were living the DJ life had them. Total beginners who were just obsessed with music and DJing had them. It was the goal of anyone into DJing. The direct drive start-up DJ kit which i’d bought was fine, but every time I played out in public to large and small audiences, it was on the 1210’s. Because I didn’t own these, I was never comfortable using them, as each deck type is different and my cheaper variety were far more responsive and didn’t hold time as well.

So, it’s basically the last chance to own a pair of new technics, so there is a critical time element involved which can’t really be ignored, or put off for the future. Also given the debt snowballing situation we’re in (see previous post on this), it means the cost of the decks will be paid off within under 3 months.

The mixers were also always far more complicated than my ‘entry level’ version, which meant I spent all my time trying to quickly learn how to use each different mixer, while also selecting records and responding to what was going on where I was DJing! I’m seriously considering the Behringer Pro DJ Mixer DDMS4000 as the replacement version.

A good review of the DDM4000 here.

So, the chance to own and master the best possible equipment was a dream which is now finally possible – it’s just the mastering bit which i’ll have to work on! The new equipment will basically replace the old setup, but i’m considering using the old equipment for the boys to practice with. I could just swap over the needles and cartridges each time though, so we could all use the new gear.

The new decks have fold down clear case tops, which protect the decks and i’ll also get a full table dust cover. I also need to find sturdy wooden record boxes with lids. I cannot wait for them to arrive – i’ll be like a kid at Christmas!

out

3 thoughts on “Technics reborn…!

  1. Ah, don;t book yourself up around the Queens Jubilee next year – I think I have a gig for you….
    How would you fancy doing a silent disco?

    • Silent disco – coolio! I’ll have to get myself back into the mixing groove first though – bit rusty to say the least. Also, the mixer i’m hoping to get allows mixing just on the headphones, with no speakers needed (e.g. no ‘sound’ is put out), so the left deck goes to the left headphone and the right deck to the right headphone. Keep me posted anyway! A bit different to what i’m used to doing but it works well.

  2. It’s a super site all regarding their sound, studio and recording techniques is there … I was so amazed myself and my band. I would surely recommend these guys.
    They really understand what they’re doing. It is at more than the professional level. They made us a very good price. http://www.v3sound.sk

Leave a Reply

