Bouldering 3 – in search of new heights…

So, my 3rd bouldering adventure at the Warehouse in Gloucester.

Some great photos by my colleague in climbing (i’ll call him SKP) – they beat the ones I took hands down!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This was probably the best session so far as I know more what to expect and know the routes I want to try out. The technique seems to be improving for both SKP and I and we’re managing to get around the walls more quickly. We’re also able to complete a couple of the routes which we were only half finishing before.

I was hiring some Boreal shoes this time, which to be fair, weren’t as good as the La Sportiva ones. The toes were too tight on the sides and the grip was too smooth. SKP’s father in law is kindly lending me his spare shoes until I can get some of my own + a chalk bag. I’ll see how these fit and hopefully then not have to pay the £2.50 each time to hire them!

So, this time we were trying to get across the gap between the main central boulder, to the side wall, via a single grip fixed to the top board near the ceiling. We didn’t quite do it but when I reached across with my foot, I was about 10 cms away from the other side! It’s going to have to be a swing across and hope the holds work. It’s high enough to be a nervous experience (even with thick crash mats) and it’s an amazing feeling.

out

One thought on “Bouldering 3 – in search of new heights…

Leave a Reply

