Old vinyl to new Mac…

Well, I love vinyl but also love my iMac. I want to work with vinyl as it has soul and character. I love the way the edge of the record slowly moves towards and away from the centre point because it wasn’t cut exactly right. I love the way the needle rides up and down over the surface and reflects the life of the record. I love being able to touch the music. I love the amazing process of two pieces of plastic rubbing together to reproduce one of human’s greatest achievements.

Vinyl will always be in my soul and memory. So, that being the case, how do I go from vinyl to iMac in order to allow the evolution of my learning of music and also to help preserve the music recorded on the vinyl and to use the digital recording in other ways?

I have so much vinyl collected over the years and have already looked into vinyl to MP3 recorders, but i’m just thinking this could take the rest of my natural life to do! So, what I might start doing is selecting only certain records and hook up the mixer to the iMac and make the recordings. This would almost be a link to the original vinyl, much of which can’t be downloaded and which is essentially free.

This is a good step by step guide to recording vinyl onto the Mac, which i’ll hopefully be putting into practice in the near future. The selection process will also make me really think about which records are the most important to me.

out

Leave a Reply

